Skip to content
Closed
Changes from all commits
Commits
File filter

Filter by extension

Filter by extension

Conversations
Failed to load comments.
Loading
Jump to
Jump to file
Failed to load files.
Loading
Diff view
Diff view
Original file line number Diff line number Diff line change
@@ -1,53 +1,3 @@
---
title: Blocking a user from your organization
intro: Organization owners and moderators can block anyone who is not a member of the organization from collaborating on the organization's repositories.
redirect_from:
- /articles/blocking-a-user-from-your-organization
- /github/building-a-strong-community/blocking-a-user-from-your-organization
versions:
fpt: '*'
ghec: '*'
shortTitle: Block from your org
category:
- Block users and report abuse
---

You can block non-members from within your organization's settings or from content in the organization's repositories.

You can also close any open issues, pull requests, and discussions the user has opened in repositories owned by the organization. Organization moderators can close content only in repositories where they have write access. When you block a user from a comment, you can choose to send the user a notification explaining that they were blocked and why. Otherwise, the user is not directly notified that you've blocked them. Blocked users can still delete their existing content.

{% data reusables.organizations.blocking-a-user %}

> [!TIP]
> If you're blocking a user because of a heated conversation, consider locking the conversation so only collaborators can comment. For more information, see [AUTOTITLE](/communities/moderating-comments-and-conversations/locking-conversations).

At the time that you block a user from your organization:
* The user stops watching your organization's repositories
* The user's stars and issue assignments are removed from your repositories
* The user's votes on discussions or comments in your organization's repositories are deleted
* The user is removed as a collaborator on your organization's repositories
* The user's contributions to your organization's repositories are no longer counted as contributions for them
* Any pending repository or organization invitations to the blocked user are canceled
* The user's comments on repository security advisories are hidden

After you've blocked a user from your organization, they cannot:
* Cross-reference your organization's repositories in comments
* Fork, watch, pin, or star your organization's repositories

In your organization's repositories, blocked users also cannot:
* Open issues
* Send, close, or merge pull requests
* Comment on issues, pull requests, or commits
* Comment on repository security advisories
* Add or edit wiki pages

Blocking a user from a comment doesn't delete the original issue, pull request, or security advisory.

## Blocking a user from repository content

You must be an organization owner or moderator to block a user from a repository security advisory.

1. Navigate to the issue, pull request, or repository security advisory that contains the description or comment whose author you would like to block.
1. In the upper-right corner of the description or comment, click {% octicon "kebab-horizontal" aria-label="Show options" %}, then click **Block user**.

![Screenshot of a pull request comment by octo-user. Below an icon of three dots, a dropdown menu is expanded, and "Block user" is outlined in orange.](/assets/images/help/repository/comment-menu-block-user.png)
Expand Down Expand Up @@ -99,3 +49,53 @@ You must be an organization owner or moderator to block a user from a repository
* [AUTOTITLE](/communities/maintaining-your-safety-on-github/blocking-a-user-from-your-personal-account)
* [AUTOTITLE](/communities/maintaining-your-safety-on-github/unblocking-a-user-from-your-personal-account)
* [AUTOTITLE](/communities/maintaining-your-safety-on-github/reporting-abuse-or-spam)
---
title: Blocking a user from your organization
intro: Organization owners and moderators can block anyone who is not a member of the organization from collaborating on the organization's repositories.
redirect_from:
- /articles/blocking-a-user-from-your-organization
- /github/building-a-strong-community/blocking-a-user-from-your-organization
versions:
fpt: '*'
ghec: '*'
shortTitle: Block from your org
category:
- Block users and report abuse
---

You can block non-members from within your organization's settings or from content in the organization's repositories.

You can also close any open issues, pull requests, and discussions the user has opened in repositories owned by the organization. Organization moderators can close content only in repositories where they have write access. When you block a user from a comment, you can choose to send the user a notification explaining that they were blocked and why. Otherwise, the user is not directly notified that you've blocked them. Blocked users can still delete their existing content.

{% data reusables.organizations.blocking-a-user %}

> [!TIP]
> If you're blocking a user because of a heated conversation, consider locking the conversation so only collaborators can comment. For more information, see [AUTOTITLE](/communities/moderating-comments-and-conversations/locking-conversations).

At the time that you block a user from your organization:
* The user stops watching your organization's repositories
* The user's stars and issue assignments are removed from your repositories
* The user's votes on discussions or comments in your organization's repositories are deleted
* The user is removed as a collaborator on your organization's repositories
* The user's contributions to your organization's repositories are no longer counted as contributions for them
* Any pending repository or organization invitations to the blocked user are canceled
* The user's comments on repository security advisories are hidden

After you've blocked a user from your organization, they cannot:
* Cross-reference your organization's repositories in comments
* Fork, watch, pin, or star your organization's repositories

In your organization's repositories, blocked users also cannot:
* Open issues
* Send, close, or merge pull requests
* Comment on issues, pull requests, or commits
* Comment on repository security advisories
* Add or edit wiki pages

Blocking a user from a comment doesn't delete the original issue, pull request, or security advisory.

## Blocking a user from repository content

You must be an organization owner or moderator to block a user from a repository security advisory.

1. Navigate to the issue, pull request, or repository security advisory that contains the description or comment whose author you would like to block.
Loading