From c4e4f7474941e74021add825ca3b010bf9e1dc0c Mon Sep 17 00:00:00 2001 From: damn-am-star Date: Tue, 6 Oct 2026 21:29:10 -0400 Subject: [PATCH] Revise blocking user guidelines in organization documentation Updated the markdown file to include blocking user guidelines and organization settings. --- .../blocking-a-user-from-your-organization.md | 100 +++++++++--------- 1 file changed, 50 insertions(+), 50 deletions(-) diff --git a/content/communities/maintaining-your-safety-on-github/blocking-a-user-from-your-organization.md b/content/communities/maintaining-your-safety-on-github/blocking-a-user-from-your-organization.md index 82a9d202895c..aea7c88eae91 100644 --- a/content/communities/maintaining-your-safety-on-github/blocking-a-user-from-your-organization.md +++ b/content/communities/maintaining-your-safety-on-github/blocking-a-user-from-your-organization.md @@ -1,53 +1,3 @@ ---- -title: Blocking a user from your organization -intro: Organization owners and moderators can block anyone who is not a member of the organization from collaborating on the organization's repositories. -redirect_from: - - /articles/blocking-a-user-from-your-organization - - /github/building-a-strong-community/blocking-a-user-from-your-organization -versions: - fpt: '*' - ghec: '*' -shortTitle: Block from your org -category: - - Block users and report abuse ---- - -You can block non-members from within your organization's settings or from content in the organization's repositories. - -You can also close any open issues, pull requests, and discussions the user has opened in repositories owned by the organization. Organization moderators can close content only in repositories where they have write access. When you block a user from a comment, you can choose to send the user a notification explaining that they were blocked and why. Otherwise, the user is not directly notified that you've blocked them. Blocked users can still delete their existing content. - -{% data reusables.organizations.blocking-a-user %} - -> [!TIP] -> If you're blocking a user because of a heated conversation, consider locking the conversation so only collaborators can comment. For more information, see [AUTOTITLE](/communities/moderating-comments-and-conversations/locking-conversations). - -At the time that you block a user from your organization: -* The user stops watching your organization's repositories -* The user's stars and issue assignments are removed from your repositories -* The user's votes on discussions or comments in your organization's repositories are deleted -* The user is removed as a collaborator on your organization's repositories -* The user's contributions to your organization's repositories are no longer counted as contributions for them -* Any pending repository or organization invitations to the blocked user are canceled -* The user's comments on repository security advisories are hidden - -After you've blocked a user from your organization, they cannot: -* Cross-reference your organization's repositories in comments -* Fork, watch, pin, or star your organization's repositories - -In your organization's repositories, blocked users also cannot: -* Open issues -* Send, close, or merge pull requests -* Comment on issues, pull requests, or commits -* Comment on repository security advisories -* Add or edit wiki pages - -Blocking a user from a comment doesn't delete the original issue, pull request, or security advisory. - -## Blocking a user from repository content - -You must be an organization owner or moderator to block a user from a repository security advisory. - -1. Navigate to the issue, pull request, or repository security advisory that contains the description or comment whose author you would like to block. 1. In the upper-right corner of the description or comment, click {% octicon "kebab-horizontal" aria-label="Show options" %}, then click **Block user**. ![Screenshot of a pull request comment by octo-user. Below an icon of three dots, a dropdown menu is expanded, and "Block user" is outlined in orange.](/assets/images/help/repository/comment-menu-block-user.png) @@ -99,3 +49,53 @@ You must be an organization owner or moderator to block a user from a repository * [AUTOTITLE](/communities/maintaining-your-safety-on-github/blocking-a-user-from-your-personal-account) * [AUTOTITLE](/communities/maintaining-your-safety-on-github/unblocking-a-user-from-your-personal-account) * [AUTOTITLE](/communities/maintaining-your-safety-on-github/reporting-abuse-or-spam) +--- +title: Blocking a user from your organization +intro: Organization owners and moderators can block anyone who is not a member of the organization from collaborating on the organization's repositories. +redirect_from: + - /articles/blocking-a-user-from-your-organization + - /github/building-a-strong-community/blocking-a-user-from-your-organization +versions: + fpt: '*' + ghec: '*' +shortTitle: Block from your org +category: + - Block users and report abuse +--- + +You can block non-members from within your organization's settings or from content in the organization's repositories. + +You can also close any open issues, pull requests, and discussions the user has opened in repositories owned by the organization. Organization moderators can close content only in repositories where they have write access. When you block a user from a comment, you can choose to send the user a notification explaining that they were blocked and why. Otherwise, the user is not directly notified that you've blocked them. Blocked users can still delete their existing content. + +{% data reusables.organizations.blocking-a-user %} + +> [!TIP] +> If you're blocking a user because of a heated conversation, consider locking the conversation so only collaborators can comment. For more information, see [AUTOTITLE](/communities/moderating-comments-and-conversations/locking-conversations). + +At the time that you block a user from your organization: +* The user stops watching your organization's repositories +* The user's stars and issue assignments are removed from your repositories +* The user's votes on discussions or comments in your organization's repositories are deleted +* The user is removed as a collaborator on your organization's repositories +* The user's contributions to your organization's repositories are no longer counted as contributions for them +* Any pending repository or organization invitations to the blocked user are canceled +* The user's comments on repository security advisories are hidden + +After you've blocked a user from your organization, they cannot: +* Cross-reference your organization's repositories in comments +* Fork, watch, pin, or star your organization's repositories + +In your organization's repositories, blocked users also cannot: +* Open issues +* Send, close, or merge pull requests +* Comment on issues, pull requests, or commits +* Comment on repository security advisories +* Add or edit wiki pages + +Blocking a user from a comment doesn't delete the original issue, pull request, or security advisory. + +## Blocking a user from repository content + +You must be an organization owner or moderator to block a user from a repository security advisory. + +1. Navigate to the issue, pull request, or repository security advisory that contains the description or comment whose author you would like to block.